Difference of fields World & Projection

Jul 1, 2011 at 4:20 PM

Hello,

I'm a beginner with SLAR & Balder and am trying to adapt the samples provided by the SLAR TK to use my own object (instead of mesh from ASE files, pitcures, etc).

I started from the sample "SLARToolKitBalderSample" (The one wich displays a car, a tank, a teapot or a rounded cube), added a class MyBox inheriting from Balder.Objects.Geometries.Geometry and whose Prepare() method draws a cube on the viewport. I've replaced meshes with BlueBox (an instance of MyBox) and obtained such a code for applying projection to my box:

[...]
var trans = ToBalderMatrix(detectedResult.Transformation); ApplyFinalTransformation(trans);

[...]

private void ApplyFinalTransformation(Matrix baseTransformation3D)
      {
          // Transform the mesh and change coordinate system
          // Apply the final transformation matrix to the TextBox

// Transform the mesh and change coordinate system
          var centerImageAtOrigin = Matrix.CreateTranslation(Convert.ToInt32(-40 * 0.5), Convert.ToInt32(-40 * 0.5), 0);
          var trans = centerImageAtOrigin * baseTransformation3D;
          BlueBox.World = trans;
      }

First I don't understand why in some samples, to apply the final transformation we update te field Object.Projection (for the TextBox and for the Sun/Moon sample e.g.) and in some others we update the field Object.World.
Depending of our choice, the result is not identical : With the code above (updating Object.World) my box doesn't keep aligned with the pattern when I take away the pattern from the center of the image (here is an illustation to what I'm meaning ; it occurs whith the car/tank/cube/teapot sample too). While by udpating the Object.Projection field, objects kepp aligned with the pattern (e.g. with the SLARToolKitSample Puzzle/Bear and TextBox).